makz web

Writing as a Job

Date: 27 January 2020; Mood: Sleepy

I didn’t really notice the last six months as they passed by, this website going without an update. It’s not like I haven’t been writing things since then. I actually got a part time job writing for a local media outlet over the last couple of months.

It also wasn’t like my writing for school and work took up so much of my life that I didn’t have time to stop and think about my personal projects. If anything, the constant drudgery of math class after math class is probably what kept me from updating this website. I’ve been burned out for a while now.

I had another two blog posts I started writing that ended up going nowhere, and I’ve been tinkering away at translations and HTML goodies, but nothing’s finished. Nothing feels right.

I can’t make any big promises that I’ll have lots of new content for this site any time soon, but I wanted to make it clear that I haven’t abandoned it, either.

In the meantime, here’s a little bit about my current job: I write articles advertising local events and businesses for a small town’s news outlet. They’ve had a web presence going back about 15 years now, which is a respectably long time for a small town operation.

I’m learning about SEO, and mostly write articles with an eye to keywords. They trained me to confine my writing to significantly smaller paragraphs than I’m comfortable with, which I’m sure will cause problems when I get back to writing for academia… Well, thankfully, I don’t have any more English classes left to take.

The worst part of it is that I’m following the particularities of the AP style guide, which don’t include my favorite comma! Oh, dearest Oxford Comma, hail be to thee! Blessed are thee among punctuation, and blessed the fruits of writers employing thy excellence!

I’m certain that I’ll drop all the writing I’ve done for the site for the time being and write something about the Cats 2019 movie adaptation instead. I’ve already contributed a review to my friend’s movie and music review website, and will link to it in the writing section of this website when it’s published.

(Spoiler alert: I love it. I’m a gremlin; of course I love it. It’s like it was made specifically for me.)

Until then, fair Internet denizens, I bid you adieu!